iSchool Faculty Member Wins Innovation Award Assistant Professor Eric Meyers will be honoured at the 2015 Association for Library and Information Science Education (ALISE) Conference with the Pratt-Severn Faculty Innovation Award.

Winter Intersession Special Topics Course – Clarion University The Department of Library Science at Clarion University is offering a winter intersession special topics three credit class (Dec. 15, 2014-Jan. 14, 2015) entitled #Linked Big Data. The focus of the course centers on the library’s role in shaping how big data can be organized, structured, and linked via semantic web technologies. The nature and […]

ALA Accreditation Process Update We are pleased to report that, following our November 21st meeting with ALA-CoA, our “Plan for Removal of Conditional Status” for the MLIS program was positively received by the committee, and they have officially accepted our Plan. That document outlined the major changes we have made over the last year to implement a comprehensive learning […]

Congratulations Graduates! Congratulations! 26 SLAIS students who had their degrees conferred in September 2014 and November 2014 (13 MLIS, 4 MAS, 2 MASLIS, and 7 MA in Children's Literature).

SLAIS MLIS Student Member of Winning Team in ASIS&T Design Competition In the Student Design Competition, Team Disaster Box, featuring iSchool MLIS student Krista Parham, with Kenyon Crowley, and Zachary Frazier took First Prize. Prompted with designing for information needs in crisis, this team presented a concept for a decentralized, resilient, parallel Internet network with an integrated social media platform to be deployed in the event […]

UBC iSchool at ASIS&T UBC iSchool will be well represented at the 77th ASIS&T Annual Meeting in Seattle, Washington from October 31st - November 5th as a number of UBC faculty and students will be attending and participating in the event.

iSchool Doctoral Candidate wins SSHRC Award We are happy to be able to announce that Doctoral Candidate Jessica Bushey has been awarded a two year SSHRC grant to support her research on the Trustworthiness of Digital Photographs accessed and stored in Social Media Platforms.

Ronald Jobe Scholarship in Children’s Literature Winner Congratulations to Bonnie Tulloch the 2014 winner of the Ronald Jobe Scholarship in Children's Literature

National Library of Medicine Associate Fellowship Program The National Library of Medicine (NLM) is accepting applications for its Associate Fellowship program, a one-year training program for recent MLS graduates and librarians early in their career.

Vivian Schmidt Memorial Award for Excellence in Law Librarianship Congratulations to Luke McLeod winner of the Vivian Schmidt Memorial Award for Excellence in Law Librarianship.