MACL Theses Roundup: Congrats to Recent Defenders! January to September 2014 saw a large number of Master of Arts in Children’s Literature students successfully defend their theses.

Fall 2014 Colloquim Series – Talk by Jennifer Preece Citizen Science: Information, Technology and People By Dr. Jennifer Preece Professor and Dean, University of Maryland Wednesday, September 24, 2014 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM

MLIS Alumna Receives 2014 Robert Munsch Award Congratulations to Nadine Lincoln, MLIS '14, who is the recipient of the 2014 Robert Munsch Award, for her paper "Spunky Female Protagonists in Munsch Narratives."

iSchool Director Recipient of ASIS&T SIG SI Best Social Informatics Paper Award Congratulations to Director Caroline Haythornthwaite, who has received the 2013 Best Social Informatics Paper Award from the Association for Information Science and Technology Special Interest Group for Social Informatics (ASIS&T SIG SI). The award is shared with the paper's lead author, Dr. Nama Raj Budhathoki.

ACA@UBC – Save the date! The Association of Canadian Archivists Student Chapter at the University of British Columbia (UBC) is delighted to present its seventh annual international Seminar and Symposium, Professional Education and Archives: What Does the Future Require? which will be held at UBC in on February 11-13, 2015.

MACL Alumna has Thesis Published by Scholastic Congratulations to MACL alumna Stacey Matson, who has had her thesis published by Scholastic. Stacey’s creative thesis is entitled, “A Year in the Life of a Total and Complete Genius.”

MLIS Alum Awarded Funding from CIHR MLIS alum and current Interdisciplinary Studies PhD Candidate Devon Greyson has been awarded Knowledge Translation funding from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (Institute of Gender and Health) for a project titled, "Theatre-based Knowledge Exchange with Early-Age Parents and Community Stakeholders."

iSchool Faculty Members Promoted to Associate Professors Congratulations to Dr. Luanne Freund and Dr. Victoria Lemieux on their recent promotions to the rank of Associate Professor.

Dr. Sam Rothstein (1921-2014) It is with sadness that we let you know that Dr. Sam Rothstein, the original Director of the School of Library, Archival and Information Studies (then the School of Librarianship), passed away on Tuesday of this week.

Luciana Duranti Named ACA Fellow Dr. Luciana Duranti, Chair of the Master of Archival Studies program, was named a Fellow of the Association of Canadian Archivists (ACA) at the 2014 ACA Conference in Victoria, British Columbia (june 26 – 28, 2014). According to the ACA, this award is the highest recognition the association can bestow on its members.